Skip to main content

PAS Steering Committee 2019-2020

Jump to Last Name:

Adia Benton

Adia Benton

Assistant Professor in Anthropology

Interest(s): Global health, biomedicine, development, humanitarianism, political economy, race, gender, sports, Sierra Leone, Mozambique, US
Phone number: 847/491-2852
E-mail: adia.benton@northwestern.edu

Sean Hanretta

Sean Hanretta

Associate Professor of History

Interest(s): West African intellectual history, with a focus on Islam; African religions in Francophone West Africa and Ghana
Phone number: 847-491-7557
E-mail: sean.hanretta@northwestern.edu

Esmeralda Kale

Esmeralda Kale

George and Mary LeCron Foster Curator of the Melville J. Herskovits Library of African Studies

Phone number: 847-491-3941
E-mail: ekale@northwestern.edu

Meagan Keefe

Meagan Keefe

Associate Director, Program of African Studies
Programming, co-sponsorships, publications, and grant development

Phone number: 847-491-2594
E-mail: meagan.keefe@northwestern.edu

Will Reno

Will Reno

Interest(s): Conflict in the context of state collapse; Political strategies of armed groups and the politics of international intervention and counter insurgency; Somalia and the greater Horn of Africa region
E-mail: reno@northwestern.edu

Zekeria Ahmed Salem

Zekeria Ahmed Salem

Director of ISITA, Associate Professor of Political Science

Interest(s): Islam and Muslim Politics in Africa, Islamic Thought; Islam, race and ethnicity; social movements; bureaucratization; equality and citizenship; the State in Africa
Phone number: 847-467-2143
E-mail: zekeria.salem@northwestern.edu

Back to top